Dave discovered a passion for music at school where he started playing the bass guitar aged 13. Soon after he held the bass chair in the award winning Cornwall Youth Jazz Orchestra and found him self working in numerous professional situations including music theatre, swing, funk and reggae bands.

After graduating from Middlesex University's Jazz course with a first class degree Dave quickly established himself as one of the most in demand young bass players in the city. After immersing himself in the London jazz scene for a few years Dave received a scholarship to study at the Guildhall School of Music's Jazz postgraduate diploma from which he graduated with a distinction. He also received the Paul Hamlyn foundation award which enabled him to tour and record with collective quartet Neverland.

Dave has continued to forge a reputation for himself and can frequently heard in the capital's top venues such as Ronnie Scott's, The Vortex, The 606 and The Jazz Cafe. He has also toured extensively nationally and internationally appearing at the Xerox Rochester international Jazz festival, Abu Dhabi Jazz festival, The Breacon Jazz festival, San Sebastian Jazz festival and Love Supreme festival to name a few.

He has worked with Steve Lacy, Marc Copland, John Taylor, Bill Frisell, Bobby Wellins, Dave Liebman,  The NDR Big Band, The BBC Big Band, Mike Gibbs, Jack Bruce, Evan Parker, Kirk Lightsey, Ed Thigpen, Billy Hart, Chris Cheek, Josh Roseman, Jim Mullen, Maceo Parker, Rob Garcia, Chris Biscoe, Nick Smart, Jason Rebelo, Phil Robson, Henry Lowther, Jeff Williams, Gilad Atzmon, Jacqui Dankworth, Byron Wallen, Clare Teal, Steve Argüelles, Julian Siegal, Hans Koller, Joe Lee Wilson, Christine Jensen, Stan Sulzmann, Barry Green, Eddie Prevost, Anita Wardell, Nikki Isles, Martin Speake, Hannes Riepler, Gary Kavanagh and Trevor Watkiss

Along side a busy freelancing schedule current projects include Christine Tobin’s group, Liam Noble’s Trio and Quintet, Claire Martin and Ray Gelato’s “A Swinging Affair”, The Amy Gamlen Quintet, Gareth Lockrane’s Grooveyard, The Frank Harrison Trio and Josephine Davies' “OTree Trio”.